People

Professor Alexandra Adams
Professor & Head of Unit
aa2@stir.ac.uk

Dr Kim Thompson
Senior Research Fellow
kdt1@stir.ac.uk

Dr Saravanane Poobalane
Post Doctoral Scientist
sp15@stir.ac.uk

Mrs Hilary McEwan
Research Technician
hjm2@stir.ac.uk

Mrs Karen Sneddon
(Aquatic Diagnostics Ltd)
kes2@stir.ac.uk

Mr Niall Auchinachie
GLP study director
naa1@stir.ac.uk

Mrs Sandra Laffon
PhD Student
sml1@stir.ac.uk

Mrs Tharangani Herath
PhD Student
tkh1@stir.ac.uk

Drs Matthijs Metselaar
PhD Student
mm105@stir.ac.uk

Mr Sean Monaghan
PhD Student
sjm27@stir.ac.uk

Dr Carlos Salvador Farias Rojas, Chile
(1995) Immunopatholgical studies on Renibacterium salmoninarum the causative on bacterial kidney disease carlosfarias@udec.cl

Dr David John Morris, UK
(1996) Studies on proliferative kidney disease using monoclonal antibody probes djm4@stir.ac.uk

Shih-Chu Chen, Taiwan
(1996) Characterisation of extracellular products produced by mycobacterium spp and their effects on the fish immune system.

Dr Vassilios Bakopoulos, Greece
(1996) Studies on fish pasteurellosis with particular reference to diagnosis

Dr. Rafiqul Islam Sarder, Bangladesh
(1998) A comparison of immune responses and disease resistance in clonal lines of tilapia Oreochromis niloticus L. rafiqulsarder@yahoo.com

Dr Suppalak Puttinaowarat, Thailand
(1999) Identification of aquatic Mycobacterium spp. suppalak68@yahoo.com

Dr Margaret Crumlish, UK
(1999) A study on the innate defence mechanisms of farmed tropical Rana spp. mc3@stir.ac.uk

Dr Jung Tae Sung, Korea
(1999) Studies on Pasteurellosis with reference to pathogenesis jungts@gmail.com

Dr. Karen P. Plant, UK
(2000) Studies on resistance to infectious pancreatic necrosis virus in Atlantic salmon (salmo salar) kplant@uidaho.edu

Dr MAR Faruk, Bangladesh
(2000) Studies on Flavobacterium psychrophilum hasin96@yahoo.com

Dr Ioannis Vatsos, Greece
(2001) Persistence of F. psychrophilum in the aquatic environment ivatsos@hotmail.com

Dr David Miles, UK
(2001) Immune response of fish to Aphanamyces invadans d.j.c.miles@excite.com

Dr Nirattisai Petchsupa, Thailand
(2002) Studies on proliferative Kidney Disease with Particular reference to vaccine development pnirati@bunga.pn.psu.ac.th

Dr Emine Turgut, Turkey
(2002) Expression of Renibacterium salmoninarum antigens cultured in vivo and in vitro emineturgut5@yahoo.com

Ms Sema Yuksel, Turkey.
(2002) Studies of the characterisation and detection of Piscirickettsia salmonis semaakinlar@yahoo.com

Ms Sayema Sayeed, Bangladesh
(2003) A comparison of immune responses and disease resistance in clonal lines of tilapia Oreochromis niloticus L. Sayema.Sayeed@canberra.edu.au

Ms Alison Morgan, UK.
(2004) The effects of seasonality on the immune response of salmonids a.l.morgan@stir.ac.uk

Ms Lorna Marshall, UK.
(2004) The effect of dietary organic chromium on metabolism and the immune response in fish Lorna.Marshall@foodstandards.gsi.gov.uk

Ms Joanne Good, UK
(2004) Assessment of immune response in Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar) receiving alternative oil diets joannehenderson@bio-stat.com

Dr Janina Zuleica de Garcia e Costa, Portugal
(2005) B-cell epitopes in fish nodavavirus janina@cimacanarias.com

Ms Una McCarthy, Ireland.
(2005) Piscirickettsia salmonis: Characterisation, infection and Immune Response in salmonid Fish U.McCarthy@marlab.ac.uk

Ms Rubina Sheriff, UK.
(2005) Identification, cloning and development of an ELISA for gamma interferon from fish. rubina.sharif@galvmed.org

Dr Charles McGurk, UK
(2005) Culture of malacosporeans (Myxozoa) and devleopment of control strategies for proliferative kidney disease Charles.McGurk@skretting.com

Mr. Saravanane Pooblane, India
(2007) Aeromonas hydrophila Vaccine Development Using Immunoproteomics saravanane.poobalane@stir.ac.uk

Mr Fazel Pourahmad, Iran.
(2008) Molecular biological and immunological-based methods for detection and identification of Aquatic Mycobacterium spp. fpourahmad@gmail.com

Dr Gareth Melgalvis Butterfield, UK
(2008) Genetic variation for disease resistance in Rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) garethbutterfield@hotmail.com

Ms Farah Manji, Uganda
(2009), Ecology and epidemiology of Rainbow Trout Fry Syndrome farah.manji@stir.ac.uk

Mr. Remi Gratacap, France
(2009), Characterisation of Vibrio sp in Marine Aquaculture gratacapr@yahoo.co.uk